April 16,  2008

One-stop voting begins April 17 for the May 6 primary

A reason or excuse is no longer required to vote by absentee ballot, and voting for the May 6 primary will start in Dare County on Thursday, April 17, and continue until Friday or Saturday, May 2 or 3, depending on where in the county you vote.

Democratic and Republican ballots for the primary  include choices for national and state offices, including U.S. President,  U.S. Senator, District 3 U.S. Congressman, North Carolina Governor, Lieutenant Governor, Auditor, Commissioner of Insurance, Commissioner of Labor, Superintendent of Public Instruction, and Treasurer.  There is also a non-partisan race for two seats on the state Court of Appeals. 

In Dare County, four commissioners are up for re-election, and all are running unopposed.  They are Warren Judge, Allen Burrus, Mike Johnson, and Richard Johnson.

Also on the Dare primary ballot is the non-partisan election for the county’s Board of Education.  The non-partisan school board competition for District 4 (Hatteras Island) is the only contested race in the county on May 6. Incumbent Joseph Farrow, Jr. is facing challenger Anthony Fletcher.

Also in the school board elections, David E. Oaksmith, Jr., whose District 2 spot doesn't expire until 2010, has chosen to relinquish that position and will run unopposed for the District 5 (at-large) seat being vacated by Nick Nuzzi, who is not seeking re-election.  After the new board is seated and a recruitment process has run its course, a selection will be made by board members to appoint a replacement to fill the spot vacated by Oaksmith.  Kill Devil Hills resident Ben Sproul, running for the first time and without opposition, will replace Skip Saunders as a District 2 representative. Saunders decided not to try for another term. District 1 incumbent Tom Maher is not seeking re-election either, and that spot will be filled unopposed by Manteo resident Bea Basnight.  Incumbents Margaret Lawler, District 3, and Dr. Walter Holton, District 1, both of whose terms don't expire until 2010, will round out the reorganized board to take effect July 1.

One-stop voting details

To be able to vote by absentee, one-stop ballot you must be a registered voter in Dare County.
Schedule and locations for One-Stop Voting:
     954 Marshall C. Collins Drive Manteo, NC 27954
     Monday–Friday, beginning April 17 until May 2.
     From 8:30 a.m. until 5 p.m.
     Saturday, May 3,  from 8:30 a.m. until 1 p.m.
    300 Mustian Street Kill Devil Hills, NC 27948
    Monday–Friday, beginning April 17 until May 2.
    From 10 a.m. until 2 p.m.

    46830 Highway 12 Buxton, NC 27920
    Monday–Friday, beginning April 17 until May 2.
    From 10 a.m. until 2 p.m. 

Register and vote at one-stop site

A North Carolina resident who is qualified to vote but who misses the 25-day deadline for voter registration may register and vote at a One-Stop Site during the One-Stop Absentee voting period. The One-Stop Voting period extends from 19 to 3 days before Election Day.
The process is sometimes referred to as “Same-Day Registration,” but it is important to recognize that it is not permitted on Election Day itself.
To use this process, a citizen must (1) go to a One-Stop Voting Site in the county of residence during the One Stop Absentee Voting period, (2) fill out a voter registration application, and (3) provide proof of residency by showing the elections official an appropriate form of identification with the citizen’s current name and current address. The new registrant may vote ONLY at a One-Stop Absentee Voting Site in the county of registration during One-Stop Absentee Voting period and not on Election Day.

Acceptable forms of identification include a:

•    North Carolina driver’s license with current address
•    Utility bill with name and current address
•    Telephone or mobile phone bill
•    Electric or gas bill
•    Cable television bill
•    Water or sewage bill

Document with name and current address from a local, state, or U.S. government agency, such as a:

•    Passport
•    Government-issued photo ID
•    U.S. military ID
•    License to hunt, fish, own a gun, etc.
•    Property or other tax bill
•    Automotive or vehicle registration
•    Certified documentation of naturalization
•    Public housing or Social Service Agency document
•    Check, invoice, or letter from a government agency
•    Birth certificate
•    Student photo ID along with a document from the school showing the student’s name and current address
•    Paycheck or paycheck stub from an employer or a W-2 statement
•    Bank statement or bank-issued credit card statement

If you cannot supply an acceptable form of identification for Proof-of-Residence, your registration application cannot be fully processed until the required information is provided.
Registered voters may also update their address and change vital information in an existing registration record at the One-Stop Site, but they are not allowed to change their party affiliation during the One-Stop Voting period that precedes a partisan primary.

Primary Election Day

Primary Election Day is Tuesday, May 6, and polls will be open from 6:30 a.m. until 7:30 p.m.  Note that the polling place in Frisco has been moved from the Fire House to the Dare County Emergency Medical Services building.

Sample Ballots

Click here for a sample ballot for the Democratic Primary:

Click here for a sample ballot for the Republican Primary:

Comments are always welcomed!

     Subject :

     Name :  (required)

     Email :  (required, will not be published)

     City :   (required)    State :   (required)

     Your Comments:

May be posted on the Letters to the Editor page at the discretion of the editor.