May 10, 2010

Dare and Hyde release re-entry permit information

Dare will not issue new permits this year but will use the old ones

The 2008-2009 re-entry passes issued by Dare County Emergency Management in June, 2008 will remain valid for 2010-2011. No new re-entry permits will be issued this year.

Re-entry passes are used for fast identification at check points following an emergency evacuation. However, all Dare County residents and property owners will be allowed re-entry at the appropriate time with proper identification.  For Dare County residents, this requires a valid driver’s license with a local address.  Property owners must show a recent tax receipt in their name along with a valid driver’s license.

 ``We looked at the history of the use of these permits and determined that extending the life of the permits makes sense,” comments Emergency Management Director Sandy Sanderson.  “It provides a cost savings without compromising the purpose of the passes.”

If Dare County is threatened by a hurricane, notice of an impending evacuation will be provided in a variety of ways -- print media, radio, television, including the official local government access channel found on local cable channel 20 and the Dare County Web site at

Following a storm, the same media will be used to announce when conditions allow re-entry.  Depending on the severity of the storm, re-entry may be allowed on a staged basis to ensure the protection of people and property.

In addition, specific routes to the Outer Banks may be necessary to access different areas of the county, so it is important to call 877-629-4386 or 252-475-5655 for detailed re-entry information following an evacuation.

During an emergency, residents and guests are encouraged to visit the Dare County Web site for updated information or call Emergency Management staff who will be on duty at 252-475-5655.   

Ocracokers can get re-entry stickers May 19-21 or by mail

Hyde County Emergency Management will issue re-entry stickers at the Ocracoke Community Center on Wednesday, May 19, from 4 to 7 p.m., Thursday May 20, from 1 until 4 p.m., and Friday, May 21, from 9 a.m. until noon.

Residents will need to show a driver’s license and vehicle registrations with an Ocracoke address.  If these items have only a post office box, you will need to show a tax bill or utility bill with the 911 (street) address on it.  Limit is two stickers per household.

Non-residents will need to show proof of improved property ownership, such as a tax or utility bill.  Limit is one sticker.

Priority stickers are issued through employers only.

You may also e-mail, fax, or mail items to Hyde County Emergency Management, P.O. Box 95, Swan Quarter, NC 27885. Phone number is 252-926-4372.  Fax is 252-926-3701.  E-mail is [email protected].

 Comments are always welcomed!

     Subject :

     Name :  (required)

     Email :  (required, will not be published)

     City :   (required)    State :   (required)

     Your Comments:

May be posted on the Letters to the Editor page at the discretion of the editor.