May 7, 2012
Re-entry permits being issued only for Dare non-resident owners

Only non-resident property owners will be receiving re-entry permits from Dare County Emergency Management for 2012-2013.

Hatteras Island non-resident property owners will receive a burgundy colored permit, and those north of Oregon Inlet and on the Dare County mainland will receive green permits.

Residents of Dare County will need a valid North Carolina driver's license, with a current Dare County address, to gain entry following a disaster. Re-entry stickers will not be issued this year to Dare County residents.

This procedure is being used to reduce expenses and facilitate the re-entry process.

Residents who have recently moved within Dare County, should be sure to have their driver's license changed reflecting their current address, as required by law.

Following are the re-entry stages established by Dare County Emergency Management following a disaster:

  • Priority One: Critical need personnel - identified by a special permit issued by the Dare County Control Group.
  • Priority Two: Permanent residents - identified by a North Carolina driver's license with a valid Dare County address, and service personnel as identified by the Dare County Control Group.
  • Priority Three: Non-resident improved property owners identified by a Dare County tax receipt or solid color permit:
    • Hatteras Island non-resident property owners - Burgundy sticker
    • North of Oregon Inlet and Mainland non-resident property owners - Green sticker
  • Priority Four: General Public.
For more information, contact Dare County Emergency Management at 252-475-5655, Monday – Friday, 8:30 a.m. to 5 p.m.

 Comments are always welcomed!

     Subject :

     Name :  (required)

     Email :  (required, will not be published)

     City :   (required)    State :   (required)

     Your Comments:

May be posted on the Letters to the Editor page at the discretion of the editor.