June 18, 2012

41 seniors receive diplomas at CHSS graduation


Forty-one students received their diplomas at the Cape Hatteras Secondary School of Coastal Studies graduation on Friday night, June 15.

The graduation was almost a week later than other Dare County High Schools because students on Hatteras went back to school later than others in the county because of the problems with re-entry caused by Hurricane Irene on Aug. 27.

But by graduation night, no one seemed to mind.

The sun peeked in and out of the clouds as students, family, and friends filed into the school on a windy and unusually cool June evening.

After the prelude by the Cape Hatteras Secondary School Graduation Band and the processional to the traditional “Pomp and Circumstance,” the U.S. Coast Guard presented colors and graduate Kevin Levi Stowe led the Pledge of Allegiance. Graduate Anna Kathryn Fletcher welcomed all to the ceremony.

Next on the program was a speech by the salutatorian, Alana Ruth Harrison.

Robert Evans Easley introduced the guest speaker, Betsy Gwin, the CHSS counselor.

The class of 2012 valedictorian, Deborah Roughton, followed with her speech.

Diplomas were awarded by principals Jean Taylor and Beth Haneman-Rooks, Superintendent of Dare County Schools Sue Burgess, and teacher Braxton Hall.

Senior class president Alana Ruth Harrison led the graduates in the turning of their tassels.

The senior medley was presented by Robert Evans Easley, Jeffrey Franklin Mueller, Blake James Taft, and Bane Michael Thomas.

Closing remarks were by Alexander Edward Garnett, and the ceremony ended with Nicole Emma Naughton’s rendition of “Turning Home.”

Marshals for the graduation were Kermit Ross Farrow and Alissa Nicole Oberbeck, co-chief marshals, Xin Yu Chen, Timothy Clyde Jordan, Taylor Anne-Marie Randall, and Melissa Suzanne Wessel.’

Class sponsors were Betsy Gwin, Darlene Francis, Karla Jarvis, and Marta Martinez.

The class motto was, “We cannot discover new oceans unless we have the courage to lose sight of the shore.”


Bill Dillon Memorial Athletic Scholarship: Maggie Easley
Lisa Owens Hooper Memorial Scholarship: Adrian Burrus, Skylr Peele
Frank and Annie Pellegrini Memorial Scholarship: Sarah Martindell, Tyler Scarborough
Sherman McDaniel Memorial Scholarship: Michelle Rollinson
Kyle Henson Williams Memorial Scholarship: Maggie Easley
John and Bernice Conner Memorial Scholarship: Kailee Pieno, Kevin Stowe
Merian Conner Sawyer Memorial Scholarship: Anna Fletcher, Victoria Gaskins, Foster Mattingly
Robbie Gray Memorial Athletic Scholarship: Maggie Easley, Robbie Easley
Greg and Eden Honeycutt Scholarship: Victoria Gaskins
John C. ‘Chap’ Gray Memorial Scholarship: Foster Mattingly, Tyler Scarborough
Hamilton Gray Memorial Scholarship: Robbie Easley
Betty Ruth Flowers Gibbs Memorial Scholarship: Deborah Roughton
Robert M. ‘Mitch’ Anderson Memorial Scholarship: Maggie Austin
Braxton B. Hall Scholarship: Darryl Hill
Willis/Printz Medical Scholarship: Victoria Gaskins
Wallace H. McCown Scholarship: Deborah Roughton
Inez Daniels Austin Scholarship: Maggie Austin, Maggie Easley
Elmer and Betty Jo Sawyer Scholarship: Maggie Easley
Stewart Couch Memorial Scholarship: Asa Ballance
Outer Banks Association of Realtors Scholarship: Maggie Easley, Kailee Pieno,
Cape Hatteras Lodge 698 A.F. & A.M. Scholarship: Sarah Martindell
Dare County Outer Banks Jaycees Scholarship: Kailee Pieno
North Banks Rotary Club Scholarship: Asa Ballance
Manteo Rotary Meekins Scholarship: Deborah Roughton
Manteo Rotary Rockfish Rodeo Scholarship: Maggie Easley
The Outer Banks Hospital Scholarship: Maggie Austin, Maggie Easley
Surf Pediatric Foundation Scholarship: Deborah Roughton
Chesapeake Hospital Authority Scholarship: Maggie Easley
North Carolina Beach Buggy Association Scholarship: Robbie Easley
State Employees Credit Union Scholarship: Deborah Roughton
Golden Leaf Foundation Scholarship: Robbie Easley
Dare County Arts Council Artrageous Youth Scholarship: Blake Taft
Dare County Boat Builders Foundation Scholarship: Asa Ballance, Adrian Burrus, Maggie Easley,
Robbie Easley, Skylr Peele, Kailee Pieno, Cameron Whitaker
Dare County Association of Fire Officers Scholarship: Asa Ballance, Brady Banks, Cameron Whitaker
Eastern Carolina Association of Firefighters Scholarship: Cameron Whitaker
N.C. Association of Rescue and Fire and EMS Scholarship: Cameron Whitaker
Dare County Farm Bureau Scholarship: Maggie Austin
Outer Banks Forum for the Lively Arts: Blake Taft
Hatteras Island Arts and Crafts Guild Scholarship: Cheyenne Brushwood,Michelle Rollinson, Blake Taft
Outer Beaches Realty Community Service Scholarship: Blake Taft, Cameron Whitaker
Midgett Realty Scholarship: Brady Banks
Cape Hatteras Electric Membership Cooperative Scholarship: Maggie Easley, Alana Harrison, Asa Ballance, Skylr Peele
Hatteras Island Kiwanis Club Scholarship: Asa Ballance, Sydney Ballance, Kailee Pieno, Cameron Whitaker
Cape Hatteras Anglers Club Scholarship: Adrian Burrus, Deborah Roughton, Cameron Whitaker
Hatteras Village Civic Association Scholarship: Asa Ballance, Maggie Easley, Robbie Easley, Alana Harrison,Kailee Pieno,Cameron Whitaker
Avon Property Owners Association Scholarship: Kristin Matthews, Deborah Roughton
Rodanthe-Waves-Salvo Civic Association Scholarship: Krystal Beck
Hatteras Island Christian Fellowship Scholarship: Foster Mattingly, Deborah Roughton,Robbie Easley
Roanoke Island Presbyterian Church Scholarship: Skylr Peele
Pursue Your Passion Scholarship: Alex Garnett, Jeffrey Mueller, Nicole Naughton, John Paul Pehrson
Festivities Scholarship: Anna Fletcher, Blake Taft
Student Government Association Scholarship: Sarah Martindell, Michelle Rollinson
Cape Hatteras Alumni and Friends Scholarship: Sydney Ballance, Darryl Hill, Foster Mattingly, Tyler Scarborough
New Horizon Scholarship: Nicole Otto, Tanner Powers, Bane Thomas
Beacon to a Brighter Future Scholarship: Sean Chasko, Lizeth Elizondo, Gerardo Martinez
Joyce M. Bornfriend Scholarship for Personal Growth: Nicole Naughton, Chris Bateman
George Mason University Scholarship: Blake Taft
Guilford College Scholarship: Michelle Rollinson
Wake Forest University Scholarship: Alana Harrison
Friends of Hurricane Award: Skylr Peele

SLIDE SHOW (IPad, IPhone and other non-flash compatible device users)

 Comments are always welcomed!

     Subject :

     Name :  (required)

     Email :  (required, will not be published)

     City :   (required)    State :   (required)

     Your Comments:

May be posted on the Letters to the Editor page at the discretion of the editor.