September 28, 2012
Dare County officials have been busy issuing marriage licenses
the summer, Dare County employees often see happy couples climbing the
steps at the Dare County Justice Center, headed to the Register of
Deeds office where they'll fill out the necessary paperwork to receive
their marriage license.
The Register of Deeds office issued 743 marriage licenses during the
busy 2012 summer wedding season -- May through August -- on average
processing more than eight marriage licenses a day.
From Jan. 1, 2006 to Dec. 31, 2011, the Dare County Register of Deeds issued 6,868 marriage licenses.
Processing the large number of marriage licenses in Dare County is no small feat.
Vanzolla McMurran-Smith, Dare County Register of Deeds, has four
deputies and two assistants who help manage and maintain the large
number of public records for Dare County, including but not limited to
marriage licenses, death certificates, real estate documents, and birth
The Register of Deeds would like to remind those interested in
obtaining a marriage license that both the bride and bridegroom must
present proper identification with a government issued ID that
containing their date of birth and picture (passport, driver's license,
etc.). Bride and bridegroom must also present their Social Security
card, a valid identification with social security number listed, or an
affidavit which indicates that they are not eligible for a Social
The requirement regarding divorce decrees is: If your previous marriage
ended in divorce less than a year before, you will need to bring a copy
of your divorce decree signed by a judge. If the divorce was more than
a year before, you will need the exact month, day, and year of the
The fee for a marriage license is $60. Payment can be made by cash,
check, or money orders made payable to the Dare County Register of
The Register of Deeds is open from 8 a.m. until 5 p.m. Marriage license
applicants are asked to be at the office no later than 4:30 p.m. to
provide ample time to complete the necessary paperwork.
You cannot obtain a marriage license after your ceremony. The
consequences for officiates who perform a marriage without a marriage
licenses are outlined in North Carolina general statutes.
If you need a certified copy of your marriage license, you may acquire
it at our office in person or you may request it by mail at P.O. Box
70, Manteo North Carolina 27954.
The fee is $10. A self-addressed, stamped envelope is appreciated.
For more information, contact the Dare County Register of Deeds office
at 252-475-5970. You can get more information on the website, http://www.darenc.com/deeds/marriage.asp.