June 10, 2013

34 seniors receive diplomas at Cape Hatteras graduation

Thirty-four members of the Class of 2013 at Cape Hatteras Secondary School of Social Studies received their diplomas at the commencement ceremonies on Saturday evening, June 10.

The Class of 2013 marched into and out of the William P. Dillon Memorial Gymnasium to the tradition “Pomp and Circumstance,” played by the Cape Hatteras Secondary School Graduation Band.

After the presentation of colors by the U.S. Coast Guard and the Pledge of Allegiance, led by Timothy Clyde Jordan, graduate Whitney Nichole Austin welcomed the parents and guests.

The class valedictorian is Kermit Ross Farrow, Jr., and the salutatorian is Alissa Nicole Oberbeck.

The guest speaker for this year’s commencement was English teacher Elke Schwartz, who was introduced by Raelin Nicole Morris.

Diplomas were handed out by principals Jean Taylor and Beth Haneman-Rooks, assistant principal Teresa Twyne, and English teacher George Johnson.

Dare County Schools Superintendent Sue F. Burgess gave the declaration of graduates and class president Taylor Anne-Marie Randall led the turning of the tassels.

Closing remarks were by graduate Jonathan Rochin Torres.

Scholarships were awarded in late May to a long list of graduating seniors.

Click Here To View Scholoarships

Click Here To View Slide Show

comments powered by Disqus