September 18, 2013

Mary Helen Goodloe-Murphy chosen
as Outer Banks Citizen of the Year

The Outer Banks Chamber of Commerce and PNC Bank have announced that Mary Helen Goodloe-Murphy of Rodanthe has been chosen as the 2013 Outer Banks Citizen of the Year.  The award will be presented at the Chamber’s Annual Meeting and Awards Dinner at 6 p.m., Tuesday, Oct. 8, 2013 at the Ramada Plaza in Kill Devil Hills. 

Mary Helen was selected from a large pool of outstanding nominees.

Well known as a local news reporter, Mary Helen oversaw and wrote the grant to have the Cape Hatteras National Seashore designated a National Scenic Byway in 2009.  She is a familiar face as president of Rodanthe-Waves-Salvo Community Civic Association and has helped organize many events, including the July Fourth celebrations, Dr. Seuss’ birthday party, and the only Halloween Parade on the Outer Banks. 

She has a strong interest in the well-being of the children of Hatteras Island and is often seen keeping score at local high school sporting events, providing refreshments and decorations, taking photos for the paper or researching grants for playgrounds, skate parks, and public access.

“Mary Helen Goodloe-Murphy has demonstrated an incredible commitment to our community and works tirelessly to make the Outer Banks a better place to live,” said Chamber Board Chairwoman Ali Breaux.    “Whenever something good happens on Hatteras Island, her name is somehow associated with it.”

Mary Helen and her husband, Tom Murphy, moved to Dare County in 1986. After moving to Rodanthe, Mary Helen spent 10 years serving as a volunteer firefighter with the Chicamacomico Banks Volunteer Fire and Rescue Squad. In 1987, she worked to establish the Hotline Thrift Store on Hatteras Island.

Ribbon cutting ceremonies on Sept. 14 and 15 celebrated her most recent accomplishment – constructed pathways through the tri-villages and Avon.

Last year, Mary Helen was named Dare County Citizen of the year, and she was honored for her community service by the Rodanthe-Waves-Salvo Civic Association in 2008.
 “Nominations for this year’s award were sought from the Chamber’s Board of Directors, its membership, and the community but without a doubt Goodloe-Murphy demonstrates all the qualities the award seeks to recognize,” said Breaux.  “Her life resume demonstrates a tremendous love and commitment to Hatteras Island, Dare County, and the entire Outer Banks region.”

The Annual Meeting coincides with the leadership change at the Chamber. Ali Breaux of Sun Realty has served as Chamber board chairwoman for 2012-2013 and will present the gavel to incoming Chairman, Mike Pringle of Coldwell Banker Seaside Realty.  This event is an opportunity for the organization to celebrate the success of the past year and look ahead to the 2013-2014 program year.  Outgoing board members will be recognized and new board member welcomed.  The Ambassador of the Year and Ambassador Team of the Year Awards will also be presented.

New this year, the Chamber will also recognize a Non-Profit of the Year, sponsored by Aycock Butler, PLLC; Chamber business member and New Member of the Year. These selections will be kept quiet until the actual event.  In addition, the event will feature centerpieces sponsored by some of our members and a “balloon pop”. 

“This has been an incredible year for the Outer Banks Chamber of Commerce,” stated Breaux.  “Our membership is now at 1,028. We’ve added and improved programming and continue to evaluate all that we offer our business members and the community.  This event will celebrate the past, present and future of our organization.”

The Outer Banks Chamber Annual Meeting and Awards Dinner is open to the public with reservations requested.  $25 includes a buffet dinner of Parmesan Chicken with Hunters Sauce, Baked Lemon Peppered Flounder, Vegetable and Starch of the Day, Dessert, Rolls, Butter, and non-alcoholic beverage. 

A few sponsorship opportunities for the event also remain including centerpiece sponsors, champagne toast, and balloon pop participants. For more information or to reserve your space, call (252 )441-8144 or visit

comments powered by Disqus