May 7, 2014

Tillis wins Republican primary and will face
incumbent Democrat Hagan in November


Voters in Dare and Hyde counties each supported statewide winners in Tuesday’s primary election, but Hyde’s electorate proved to be more engaged. The percentage of turnout in Hyde was more than twice that of Dare: 34.74 percent versus 16.26 percent.

In the most widely-watched statewide race, Thom Tillis, Speaker of the N.C. House of Representatives, who is seeking a seat in the U.S. Senate, beat back seven primary opponents to secure a place on the November ballot.  He will be facing incumbent Democratic Sen. Kay Hagan in a battle both national parties regard as a critical win. 

Tillis won statewide 222,238-132,013 over his closest opponent Greg Brannon -- 45.69 percent to Brannon’s 27.14 percent. Tillis needed at least 40 percent of the vote in the eight-way primary contest to avoid a runoff.

Tillis defeated Brannon 736-666 in Dare and 86-46 in Hyde.

Hagan easily swept away opponent Will Stewart, 369,331-66,264, winning 77.20 percent of the vote to Stewart’s 13.85 percent.

Hagan won 549-299 in Hyde and 1,615-297 in Dare.

After a hard-fought contest, U.S. Rep. Walter Jones, R-3rd District, finally spiked challenger Taylor Griffin, 22,534-19,937, winning 50.91 percent of the votes to Griffin’s 45.05 percent.  Dare voted for Jones over Griffin, 1,061-758, and Hyde favored the incumbent over Griffin, 84-77.
Former state Sen. Stan M. White of Nags Head easily secured a place on the Democratic ballot in November, swamping challenger Judy Krahenbuhl 9,795-3,118, or 75.85 percent to 24.15 percent. White will be vying to retake the Senate District 1 seat from state Sen. Bill Cook, R-Chocowinity, who defeated White in the last election by only a few votes.

In other contests, for N.C. House of Representatives District 6, Mattie Lawson defeated challenger Ashley Woolard for the Republican ticket, 2,967-2,577 -- 53.52 percent to 46.48 percent.  Lawson won 73-71 over Woolard in Hyde and 1,294-476 in Dare.  For the second time, Lawson will face incumbent state Democratic Rep. Paul Tine in the General Election.

For the District Attorney District 1 Democratic ticket, Nancy Lamb defeated challenger Kathryn P. Fagan 6,245-2,006, 75.69 percent to 24.31 percent.  Lamb won in Dare 1,381-769, or 64.23 percent to 35.77 percent.  Lamb will be running against incumbent District Attorney Andrew Womble, a Republican.

In Hyde County’s Sheriff contest, Carl “Guire” Cahoon defeated opponent Shannon Swindell, 787- 417 -- 65.37 percent to 34.63 percent.  Unless another candidate files a petition with the county Board of Elections, Cahoon will be running unopposed.

In the Dare County Sheriff’s race, Democrat Terry Ballance beat Christopher Rusk 1,335 to 799, 62.56 percent to 37.44 percent.  Ballance will be vying against incumbent Republican Sheriff Doug Doughtie.

Also in Dare County, for the clerk of Superior Court Democratic primary race, Chrissy DeGabrielle Simmons defeated Mark Hodges 1,561-673, or 69.87 percent to 30.13 percent.  Simmons, a former assistant district attorney, will face incumbent clerk Dean Tolson.    

For Dare County Board of Commissioners District 1, Margarette Midgett Umphlett beat John Lee Booth Jr. 957-698, or 57.82 percent to 42.18 percent.

In Dare County Board of Education races, winners were Charlotte White in District 1, Joe Tauber in District 2 and Margaret Lawler in District 3. Hatteras Island’s Danny Couch ran unopposed.

The general election is Tuesday, Nov. 4


Click here for statewide primary election results.
Click here for Dare County primary election results
Click here for Hyde County primary election results.

comments powered by Disqus