July 8, 2014

Storm debris pickup scheduled for
unincorporated Dare County


Debris removal for the unincorporated areas of Dare County, which includes all of Hatteras Island, will begin Monday, July 14. 

FEMA funding is not available to cover these costs, so the county’s hurricane debris removal contract will not be activated.  All hurricane debris removal will be provided solely by Dare County Public Works staff.  

The county advises that only one pass will be made through each neighborhood, so all debris should be placed in four separate piles on the side of the road by Monday, July 14.  There is no set schedule for when crews will be in a particular area of the county. The process is expected to take additional time and customers are asked for patience.  

In addition to Hatteras Island, unincorporated areas include Roanoke Island (outside the Town of Manteo), Wanchese, Manns Harbor, East Lake, Stumpy Point, Martins Point, and Colington (including inside the gate).
Debris should be placed in four separate piles on the side of road:
1. Vegetative Debris (limbs, leaves, branches, sea grass, etc.)
2. Construction and Demolition Materials (building materials, concrete, shingles, etc.)
3. Metal
4. Household Hazardous Waste and Electronics (oil, bleach, televisions, computers, etc.)

Large items, such as cars, boats, trailers, and campers will not be accepted and must be disposed of by the owner.

Debris taken to the Dare County Transfer Station in Manns Harbor or the Buxton Transfer Station will be charged the regular rate of $65/ton. The first 500 pounds for residential customers is free with the remaining weight prorated at $65/ton.

For more information, call Dare County Public Works at 252-475-5880 or 252-475-5881.

comments powered by Disqus