December 2, 2015

Dare County elections office busy for first day of filing


The first day of filing for political office in Dare County brought out a crowd of mostly already declared candidates or those who were presumed to be in the running.

However, missing from the opening day crowd at the county Board of Elections office in Manteo was District 4 incumbent Allen Burrus, whose term representing Hatteras Island expires next year.

Burrus, a Democrat, said in a phone conversation about a month ago that he had not decided whether or not to run again. He was appointed in 2006 to fill the unexpired term of the late Joseph "Mac" Midgett of Rodanthe.  He was re-elected in 2008 and 2012.

Burrus has not answered phone calls or e-mails this week about his intentions for the 2016 race, and, so far, no other Hatteras islander, Democrat or Republican, has filed or announced an intention to run.

The North Carolina General Assembly moved the state's presidential primary to March this year, so all primaries will be on March 15 for the November 2016 election -- almost a year in advance.

Democrats filing for Dare County Board of Commissioner seats thus far are Rosemarie Doshier, District 1, John Towler, District 2, and Monica Thibodeux, District 3, a seat now filled by Democrat Warren Judge, who has announced he is not running again as a commissioner.

Republicans filing for the Board of Commissioner seats were incumbents Wally Overman, District 1, and Robert “Bob” Woodard, District 2, and a surprise filing from Jimmy Watts for Judge's District 3 seat.

Judge arrived early to file for North Carolina House District 6, followed by Judy Krahenbuhl Justice, who will square off against him in the Democratic primary.

Incumbent Paul Tine, who switched from Democrat to unaffiliated after his election in 2014,  announced he will not seek re-election to the District 6 seat next November, creating the opening.

Republican Ashley Woodard of Beaufort County has announced he is running for the District 6 seat.  Two other Republicans are reportedly interested.  They are Dare County Commissioner Beverly Boswell and Mattie Lawson, who was defeated by Tine in 2014. Neither of them filed yesterday.

In the non-partisan Board of Education election, three incumbents filed -- Ben Sproul, Bea Basnight and Daniel “Danny” Couch.

Candidates have until noon on Monday, Dec. 21, to file, so stay tuned for the final primary lineup.

comments powered by Disqus