May 20, 2016

Dare businesses urged to register for re-entry permits

Local businesses are encouraged to obtain and/or verify post-disaster entry permits to re-enter Dare County following a hurricane.

Following an evacuation, businesses will be allowed to return to the county in tiers, based on the type of service provided.

Essential personnel for critical businesses are allowed re-entry with an issued permit during Priority Two. This includes essential personnel with food service/supply businesses, pharmacies, banks, gas stations, property management companies, building supply businesses, and hotels. Priority Two also includes permanent residents who are allowed entry with a driver’s license listing a Dare County address.

Non-resident employees of non-critical businesses will be allowed access during Priority Three. The employees must have a Priority Three re-entry permit issued and must be registered with Dare County Emergency Management. Priority Three also includes non-resident property owners, who should have been mailed a re-entry permit.

Business owners and managers are asked to call Emergency Management at 252-475-5655 to confirm and update records for current re-entry permits or to receive new permits. For full information about the re-entry process following a storm, visit

The county notes that re-entry permits will not be issued within 72 hours of landfall of a storm. 

comments powered by Disqus