May 23, 2017

Double Checking Re-Entry Credentials
Before Hurricane Season Begins

Hurricane season is just around the corner and Dare County Emergency Management urges residents, business owners and non-resident property owners to ensure they have the proper re-entry credentials prior to the start of the season. There are no changes to the Dare County re-entry procedures in 2017.


Residents of Dare County need a valid North Carolina driver's license with a current Dare County address or a current Dare County property tax bill along with a government issued identification to gain entry following a disaster.  Residents who have recently moved within Dare County should ensure their driver's license reflects their current address.

Business Owners

All Dare County business owners should contact Dare County Emergency Management for re-entry permits for non-resident employees.   Critical businesses such as food service/supply, pharmacies, banks, gas stations, property management, building supply and hotels will be permitted re-entry only with a Priority Two permit.  Permits issued to critical businesses must meet stringent criteria.  All other businesses will be issued Priority Three permits.  

Non-resident Property Owners

In 2014, non-resident property owners on Hatteras Island received a green re-entry permit and non-resident property owners north of Oregon Inlet and on the Dare County mainland received red re-entry permits. Re-entry permits were mailed to the address listed on the property tax bill. These permits are valid through 2018. If you did not receive a re-entry permit, recently purchased a home in Dare County or need a replacement permit, please contact Emergency Management at 252.475.5655.

The re-entry stages used following a disaster are:

Priority One: Essential Personnel – with a Priority One permit issued by the Dare County Control Group.

Priority Two: Permanent Residents & Essential Personnel for Critical Businesses – with a NC driver's license with a Dare County address, or a tax bill with a matching government issued identification, or Priority Two permit with government issued identification.

Priority Three: Non-Resident Property Owners and Non-Resident Employees of Non-Critical Businesses – with a Non-Resident Reentry Permit or Dare County tax bill with government issued identification matching the name on the tax record or a Priority Three permit with government issued identification.

Priority Four: General Public and Visitors – reentry passes are not needed.

Please note, no reentry permits will be issued within 72 hours of expected landfall of a storm on the Outer Banks.

Tax bills can be accessed using Dare County GIS at and searching to find your property by name, address or parcel number. Once property is located, click on the tax bill icon and print the record. Be sure the name on the tax bill matches the name on your government issued identification.    

For more information regarding re-entry, please visit or contact Dare County Emergency Management at (252)475-5655, Monday through Friday from 8:30 am to 5:00 pm.

For comprehensive hurricane preparedness information, visit

comments powered by Disqus