May 9, 2018

Pathway Referendum Passes; Boswell Loses to Hanig


4,134 residents – or 14% - of Dare County voters turned out for the May 8 primaries, and there were some expected results as well as some surprises by the end of Tuesday night.

The Hatteras Village Pathway Referendum, which will allow existing tax funds to be used for the upcoming pathways project, passed by a big majority of 157 (94.01%) FOR votes to 10 (5.99%) AGAINST votes.

In one of the most watched contests, incumbent Representative Beverly Boswell lost to Bobby Hanig for the N.C. House of Representatives District 6 Republican nomination, with Hanig getting 3,613 (53.02%) votes to Boswell’s 3,202     (46.98%) votes.

Incumbent Walter B. Jones won the Republican nomination for the U.S. House of Representatives with 20,862 (43.01%) votes against Scott Dacey with 13,380 (27.58%) votes, and Phil Law who received 14,266 (29.41%) votes.

Bob Steinburg won the Republican nomination for N.C. State Senate District 1 with 6,760 (58.01%) votes over Clark Twiddy with 4,894 (41.99%) votes.

For the Republican nomination for Dare County Board of Commissioners (BOC) District 2 seat, Rob Ross won with 1,407 (52.64%) votes over Ronnie Merrell with 1,266 (47.36%) votes.

For the Republican nomination for the BOC at-large seat, Anne P. Petera won with 1,931 (72.76%) votes over Ed Danko with 723 (27.24%) votes.

For the Republican nomination for the Dare County Board of Education District 1, Frank O. Hester won with 1,429 (58.11%) votes over Rick Casey with 1,030 (41.89%) votes.

A complete list of the primary election results can be found at

comments powered by Disqus