August 20, 2018

Marine Fisheries Commissioners Sworn In

Three new members of the North Carolina Marine Fisheries Commission were sworn in on Thursday, August 15, at a ceremony in Raleigh. NC Secretary of State Elaine Marshall administered the oath, and NC Secretary of DEQ, Michael Regan, assisted with the proceedings.
The three commission members were appointed by Governor Cooper and were announced on August 1.

The new members on the commission include the following, per a press release from the governor’s office:

  • Rob Bizzell of Kinston as a Recreation Sports Fisherman & Chair.
    Bizzell is the Founder of Realo Discount Drug Stores, and the co-founder of Carolina Home Medical. Bizzell served as the President for the North Carolina Pharmaceutical Association and Chair of the Marine Fisheries Commission. Bizzell replaces former member Rick Smith.
  • Mike Blanton of Elizabeth City as a Commercial Fisherman.
    Blanton fishes full-time in the Albemarle Sound. He currently serves at the proxy for the North Carolina Legislative Appointee to the Atlantic States Marine Fisheries Commission. Blanton is a former Board Member of the North Carolina Fisheries Association (NCFA) and replaces former member Janet Rose.
  • Tom Hendrickson of Zebulon and Harkers Island as a member at-large.
    Hendrickson is an attorney and businessman who works in real estate development, commercial real estate investment and management, including apartments in New Bern and affordable housing in Charlotte. He also serves on the Global Transpark Authority and was the Founding Chairman of North State Bank. Hendrickson replaces former member Mark Gorges.

comments powered by Disqus