The destination is 240 feet under the Atlantic Ocean. The place is the wreck of oil tanker the E.M. Clark, sunk in 1942 by a German U-boat 25 miles southwest of Ocracoke. It’s “the cherry on top” among diving professionals, because it’s so large, so deep, but mostly so intact, gushed Joseph Hoyt, a maritime […]

Local News |  Full Article

Charging a toll for Hatteras-Ocracoke ferry under discussion in Raleigh

UPDATE: It’s now final – free Hatteras-Ocracoke ferry will stay free By CONNIE LEINBACH By CONNIE LEINBACH By CONNIE LEINBACH With the North Carolina House and Senate override of Gov. Bev Perdue’s budget veto, Ocracokers are assured that the free ferry between Hatteras and Ocracoke will remain free. Republicans, who control the state legislature for […]

Local News |  Full Article

Charging a toll for Hatteras-Ocracoke ferry under discussion in Raleigh

UPDATE: Ocracokers win another round in keeping tolls off Hatteras Inlet ferry By CONNIE LEINBACH By CONNIE LEINBACH By CONNIE LEINBACH Ocracoke Island has apparently won the fight to keep tolls off the Ocracoke-Hatteras ferry. In the budget unveiled Tuesday, May 31,  by the North Carolina State Senate Appropriations Committee, exemptions for tolls for both […]

Local News |  Full Article

UPDATE: Amendment excluding the Ocracoke-Hatteras Ferry from a toll is threatened

Co-Chairman Sen. Peter S. Brunstetter Peter.Brunstetter@ncleg.net (919) 733-7850 Co-Chairman Sen. Neal Hunt Neal.Hunt@ncleg.net (919) 733-5850 Co-Chairman Sen. Richard Stevens Richard.Stevens@ncleg.net (919) 733-5653 Vice Chairman Sen. Tom Apodaca Tom.Apodaca@ncleg.net (919) 733-5745 Vice Chairman Sen. Linda Garrou Linda.Garrou@ncleg.net (919) 733-5620 Members Sen. Harris Blake, Harris.Blake@ncleg.net (919) 733-4809 Sen. Dan Blue, Dan.Blue@ncleg.net (919) 733-5752 Sen. Andrew C. Brock, […]

Local News |  Full Article

UPDATE: Ocracoke English teacher Charles Temple advances to final ‘Jeopardy!’

By CONNIE LEINBACH By CONNIE LEINBACH Ocracoke School English teacher Charles Temple advanced to the final rounds of “Jeopardy!” Teachers Tournament after winning the semi-final round Wednesday night. Temple, 38, will play tonight – Thursday —  in the first of two final rounds with the second round played Friday night, May 13. The cumulative winner […]

Local News |  Full Article