April 7, 2014

Voter registration deadline is Friday,
April 11, for May 6 primary election

In 2013, the North Carolina General Assembly passed VIVA, the Voter Information Verification Act. As a result of VIVA, same-day voter registration is no longer available.

In order to vote in the upcoming May 6 primary election, Dare and Hyde county residents must register to vote by 5 p.m. on Friday, April 11. If you are registering through the mail, voter registration must be postmarked no later than Friday, April 11.

Dare County   

Requests for voter registration forms may be made at the Dare County Board of Elections Office, located at 954 Marshall C. Collins Drive in Manteo between 8:30 a.m. and 5 p.m. each Monday through Friday. Voter registration applications are also available in all libraries and town halls in Dare County.

Click here for additional information on registering to vote in Dare County.

Click here to download a voter registration form.

Click here to find out if you are currently registered to vote in Dare County.

For questions regarding voting registration, please contact the Dare County Board of Elections office at 252-475-5631.

Early voting has been shortened from 17 days to 10 days. However, the hours of operations at early voting sites have been extended.

The Dare County Board of Elections will operate three additional one-stop absentee voting sites for the May 6 primary as follows:

SITE 1 - DARE COUNTY BOARD OF ELECTIONS OFFICE. 954 Marshall C. Collins Drive in Manteo. Monday – Friday, beginning April 24 through May 2, from 8:30 a.m. until 7 p.m. and Saturday, May 3, 2014 from 8:30 a.m. until 1 p.m.

SITE 2 - BAUM CENTER. 300 Mustian Street in Kill Devil Hills.
Monday–Friday beginning April 24 until May 2 from 10 a.m. until 4 p.m.

SITE 3 - FESSENDEN CENTER. Highway 12 in Buxton. Monday–Friday beginning April 24 until May 2 from 10 a.m. until 4 p.m.

SITE 4 - PITT CENTER. 5377 N. Virginia Dare Trail in Southern Shores. Monday–Friday beginning April 24 until May 2 from 10 a.m. until 4 p.m.

All registered voters in Dare County are eligible to vote in absentee no-excuse one stop voting.

Hyde County

For online voter registration applications, visit http://www.ncsbe.gov/ncsbe/Voter-Information/VR-Form.

 Hard copies can be obtained from the Board of Elections Office in Swan Quarter business hours or any public library.  You can also register to vote while at the DMV.  

To request an application by mail, you can call the Board of Elections office at 252- 926-4194, send a fax to (252) 926-3707, or e-mail a request to Viola Williams.

The State Board of Elections has added a new feature to its website.   Voters can look up their voter profile and view the sample ballot for the upcoming election.  The website address to do so is https://www.ncsbe.gov/webapps/voter_search/

The deadline to request an absentee ballot is Tuesday, April 29, 2014.

One-stop early voting will be offered starting Thursday, April 24, through Saturday, May 3, for the mainland.  For Ocracoke, it will be offered on Friday, April 25, and Saturday, April 26. 

Voter IDs

Beginning in 2016, voters will be required to present a photo identification card to election officials when they present to vote in person. Click here to view a list from the NC Board of Elections of acceptable photo ids. 

There are no photo ID requirements for persons who vote a by-mail absentee ballot. However, by-mail absentee voters will need to provide identification information when requesting an absentee ballot.

If you do not have a valid photo ID, you can visit the Dare or Hyde county Board of Elections, the NC Board of Elections, or your local DMV to receive a photo ID at no cost.


comments powered by Disqus