January 10, 2018

Highlights from Dare County BOC Meeting

The Dare County Board of Commissioners (BOC) covered a wide range of issues at their January 8 meeting in Manteo.

Topics which pertained to the island and / or the local community included the following. 

Board Consents to Tourism Grant for Chicamacomico Historical Association

Commissioners approved a request from the Dare County Tourism Board to spend from their Long Term Restricted Fund to award a Natural, Historical and Cultural Grant totaling $139,904 to the Chicamacomico Historical Association to rehabilitate the roof of the 1911 station, provide restrooms for the site, and make parking lot improvements. The Historical Association will commemorate the 100th Anniversary of the Mirlo Rescue on August 16, 2018 with a centennial event on the grounds of the Historic Site. For more information, visit www.chicamacomico.org.

Audit Report

Finance Director David Clawson presented the County’s 2017 Comprehensive Annual Financial Report (CAFR), detailing the County’s various funds and component units.

Dare County received an “unqualified” or clean opinion on its financial audit for the year that ended June 30, 2017.  The report documents that the County continues to increase its General Fund balance level and improve the deficit in the Insurance Fund balance.

A lot of interesting and valuable information is included in the report and citizens are encouraged to take a look at the complete document to learn more about the county’s financial health. The report can be accessed online at darenc.com/finance.  

Tourism Board Appointments 

The Board of Commissioners made appointments to the Dare County Tourism Board, which oversees the Outer Banks Visitors Bureau. The Bureau is the lead marketing and promotional agency for The Outer Banks and is funded by one percent of the occupancy tax and one percent of the prepared meals tax collected in Dare County. Appointments included:

George Banks, III - Member at  Large
Mayor Pro Tem Craig Garriss - Town of Kitty Hawk
Bambos Charalambous - Dare County Restaurant Association
Mayor Pro Tem Mike Hogan - Town of Kill Devil Hills
Mayor Pro Tem Chris  Nason - Town of Southern Shores
Vice Chairman Wally Overman - Dare County Commissioner
David Pergerson - Outer Banks Association of Realtors
Commissioner Webb Fuller - Town of Nags Head
Mayor Bobby Owens - Town of Manteo

2017 Employee of the Year

Tom Hollis was presented the 2017 Dare County Employee of the Year Award by Ashley Jackson of Health and Human Services, who was last year’s recipient. Hollis, a Sanitation Driver with Dare County Public Works, is well-liked and respected by both his coworkers and the community. He goes above and beyond to make customers happy, doing everything possible to keep things running smoothly. He takes time to make sure elderly residents’ cans are out and if they aren’t, he’ll roll them out himself. He is also known for getting out of his truck to pick up cans that have blown over.  And young kids are thrilled when he responds with a wave and a toot of his horn when passing by. Congratulations to Tom Hollis as Dare County’s 2017 Employee of the Year!

Chairman Woodard’s Stewardship Report 

Chairman Bob Woodard presented a stewardship report highlighting the work and accomplishments of the Board of Commissioners and staff over the past year. In opening, Woodard emphasized that he takes his role as Chairman seriously and believes in the importance of letting everyone know and understand what county government is doing throughout the year to preserve and protect the excellent way of life in Dare County.

Arts Council Plans Renovations for Courtyard

Commissioners approved a request from the Dare County Arts Council to renovate and convert the outdoor courtyard located directly behind the Historic Courthouse in downtown Manteo into a “public room” for showcasing the arts, including music, drama and other artistic endeavors such as dance. The Arts Council will provide the necessary funding for the improvements following approval by the Town of Manteo.

Recognition for Efforts Securing Grant Funds for Wanchese Harbor

Grants Administrator Jenny Jones was commended for her efforts securing a substantial grant from the Golden Leaf Foundation for the much needed dredging of Wanchese Harbor. As soon as Commissioner Tobin and Representative Boswell made the County aware of this grant opportunity, Jenny sprang into action to prepare the application and necessary paperwork.

Next Meeting of the Board of Commissioners

The Board of Commissioners’ next regular meeting is scheduled for Monday, January 22 at 5:00 p.m. For more information about the Dare County Board of Commissioners, including full agenda packets and the video of entire meetings, visit darenc.com/boc

comments powered by Disqus